NL FR DE
Artists and Breendonk

WILCHAR

WILLEM PAUWELS, alias “WILCHAR”, was born in Saint-Gilles on 1 November 1910. His father worked on the Brussels tramway and his mother was a laundrywoman. At the age of 15, he became an apprentice lithographer and took evening courses at the Saint-Gilles Academy of Art.

All his life, Wilchar was a committed, political artist. From 1935-1940, he created over 70 posters for the Belgian Workers’ Party and the Communist Party and never abandoned his belief in leftist ideals.

In 1940 he was called up for the 18-day campaign. He escaped capture and joined the National Labour Office where he took an active part in the Resistance within this organisation. The following year, he founded a group of artists called “Contact” and the year after that published the Communist Party’s secret newspaper “Art et liberté”.

On 2 April 1943 he was arrested in Forest for his resistance activities. He was prisoner no. 1939 at Breendonk until 27 May 1943, when he was transferred to the Citadel of Huy, where he remained until his release on 28 June.

From 1944, he secretly painted watercolours of Breendonk and after the liberation he illustrated the book “Breendonck-la-Mort” by Edgard Marbaix.

From the 1950s onwards, he devoted himself to linocuts and painting. He always wanted to be seen as a “popular illustrator” and produced many works denouncing the consumer society and social injustice.

In 1993, the director Richard Olivier brought Wilchar back to Breendonk and asked him to recount his memories. Entitled “Les Larmes noires”, (Black Tears) the film painted a sober portrait of this anarchist with a big heart. 

On 28 June 2005, Wilchar died in Uccle, aged 95.

The Memorial, with the support of the King Baudouin Foundation, has acquired 30 watercolours in Indian ink, produced by Wilchar shortly after his release from the camp.

His works include: 70 original posters (and 30 drafts), 30 Breendonk watercolours, 145 linos, 2 compositions on 3m by 2m canvas, 20 compositions on 1.20m by 2m panels etc.

JACQUES OCHS

Jacques Ochs was born in Nice on 19 February 1883, to German parents. At this time, his father was living off an annuity. In 1893, the family moved to Liège where Jacques Ochs entered the Academy of Art. Not content with being a skilled artist, he also shone at fencing, and became Olympic champion in 1912 in Stockholm.

Volunteering for the army in 1915, he became a motorcycle dispatch rider, then artillery sub-lieutenant and was finally assigned to an observation squadron. He was seriously injured in August 1917 and ended the war in a hydroplane squadron hunting down German submarines.

In 1921, he was appointed professor at the Liège Academy of Fine Arts, becoming its Director in 1937. In the meantime, he became lame as a result of a serious aeroplane accident, which ended his sporting career. At that time he was collaborating with various newspapers (Pourquoi Pas?, La Nation Belge, L’action wallonne, Le Petit Parisien etc.) and took an uncompromising stance towards Flemish-speakers, lack of civic duty and appeasement, expressing a strong anti-German feeling. He also satirized the political classes and highlighted social and economic matters (poverty, strikes etc.). He was a true witness of his time.

In 1938, for the satirical magazine “Pourquoi Pas?”, he drew a caricature of Hitler with his hands covered in blood (“Hitler the Emperor”). He was denounced by a jealous colleague whose sympathies lay with the New Order (Auguste Mambour), and was arrested on 17 November 1940 in his Director’s office at the Liège Academy of Fine Arts.

He was taken to Saint-Léonard prison in Liège then the Gestapo building on Avenue Louise in Brussels, before ending up at Breendonk on 7 December 1940. He was prisoner no. 56.

Major Schmitt assigned him firstly to the “Stubedienst" (cleaning department) then the “Zeichendienst” (drawing department). He was asked to sketch the prisoners for the camp commandant (mainly during July-October 1941). Every evening, he had to give his drawings to his barrack master, who gave them to the SS. In fact, he only handed over copies, hiding the originals.

He became ill and was transferred to Antwerp military hospital, then was released on 20 February 1942, thanks to the intervention of Queen Elisabeth. He managed to secretly smuggle out most of his camp drawings.

Arrested again in 1944, he was transferred to Dossin barracks, the assembly centre for Belgian Jews before their deportation to Auschwitz.  He was held there from 5 July and was finally released on 4 September by the Allied troops.

In 1947, he published “Breendonck, Bagnards et Bourreau. Textes et dessins par Jacques Ochs”. (Breendonk, Prisoners and Hangmen. Texts and drawings by Jacques Ochs.)

The Memorial owns several dozen of these drawings as well as the artist’s sketchbook, which he managed to smuggle out of the camp on his release. In 1973, the newly created French and Flemish Community purchased 64 drawings at an auction in Antwerp. Some of these drawings are on a long-term loan to the Memorial.

DIDIER GELUK (DILUCK)

After the Second World War, this committed Communist produced thousands of political caricatures under the pseudonym of Diluck, in Communist publications such as “Le Drapeau Rouge” or “Pourquoi pas?”. He then became Director of a film distribution company.

He followed the Malines trials as the press illustrator and donated his portraits of the accused to the Memorial.

He has donated to the Memorial a series of drawings produced during the Malines trials.

IDEL IANCELEVICI

Iancelevici is not actually a Breendonk artist but a Belarusian artist who produced the statue “Le Résistant” (the Resistance Fighter) which can be seen on the plain in front of the Memorial.

As a Jew he hid himself during the Second World War (under the name of Janssens Adolphe) in Maransart and then Auvelais, refusing to comply with the order to attend the Dossin Barracks in Malines, and thus evading deportation.

After the war, he began work on his monumental work of art, Le Résistant (“kneeling but never on his knees”) which, after much negotiation, finally came to Breendonk.

Visit

Who are we ?
Memorial
History
Virtual tour (360░ views)
Artists and Breendonk

Practical Information

Opening times
To get in
Rates
Guided tours
Photographs

Frequently Asked Questions

History
Practical
Plan of the Fort

Stock Photo

Contacts & Links

Guestbook
Contact us
Links

Reservations of guides

EN NL DE
Les artistes de Breendonk

WILCHAR

WILLEM PAUWELS, alias „WILCHAR“ naît à Saint-Gilles le 1er novembre 1910 d’un père travailleur aux trammways bruxellois et d’une mère lingère. A 15 ans, il devient apprenti lithographe et suit des cours du soir à l’académie de dessins de Saint-Gilles.

Wilchar sera toute sa vie ce que l’on appelle “un artiste engagé”. Durant les années 1935 – 1940, il crée plus de 70 affiches pour le Parti Ouvrier Belge et le Parti Communiste et ne cessera jamais d’adhérer à l’idéal “de gauche”.

En 1940, il est mobilisé pour la campagne des 18 jours. Il échappe à la captivité et  entre à l’Office National du Travail où il prend part active à la Résistance au sein de cet organisme. L’année suivante, il crée le groupe d’artistes « Contact » et publie l’année suivante le journal clandestin du Parti Communiste « Art et liberté ».

Le 2 avril 1943, il est arrêté à Forest pour ses activités de résistance. Il devient le détenu n°1939 à Breendonk de ce jour au 27 mai 1943. Il est ensuite transféré  à la Citadelle de Huy  où il restera enfermé jusqu’à sa libération, le 28 juin.

A partir de 1944, il peint clandestinement ses aquarelles sur Breendonk et après la libération illustre « Breendonck-la-Mort » d’Edgard Marbaix.

A partir des années '50, il se consacre à la linogravure et à la peinture. Il se veut "imagier populaire" et réalise de nombreuses planches qui dénoncent la société de consommation et les injustices sociales.

En 1993,  le réalisateur Richard Olivier ramène Wilchar à Breendonk et le fait témoigner. Intitulé  « Les Larmes noires », le film dresse sobrement le portrait de cet anarchiste au grand cœur. 

Le 28 juin 2005, Wilchar décède à Uccle, à l’âge de 95 ans

Le Mémorial, avec le soutien de la Fondation Roi Baudouin, a acquis les 30 gouaches rehaussées d’encre de Chine réalisées par Wilchar peu-après sa libération du camp.

Son oeuvre : 70 affiches originales (et 30 projets), 30 gouaches Breendonk, 145 linos, 2 compositions toiles de 3m sur 2m, 20 compositions sur panneaux de 1.20m sur 2m, etc.

JACQUES OCHS

Jacques OCHS naît à Nice, le 19 février 1883 de parents d’origine allemande. A ce moment, le père vit déjà de ses rentes. La famille déménage en 1893 pour venir s’établir à Liège où Jacques Ochs s’inscrit à l’académie. Non content de marquer de grandes qualités de dessinateur, il brille également en escrime et devient champion olympique en 1912 à Stockholm.

Volontaire de guerre en 1915, il devient estafette motocycliste, puis sous-lietenant à l’artillerie et  enfin est affecté à une ecadrille d’observation. Il est d’ailleurs abattu en août 1917. Il termine la guerre dans une escadrille d’hydravions qui menait la chasse aux sous-marins allemands.

Dès 1921, il est nommé professeur à l’académie de Liège dont il devient directeur en 1937. Entre-temps, victime d’un grave accident d’avion, il est frappé de claudication, ce qui met fin à sa carrière sportive. Il collabore à ce moment avec divers journaux (Pourquoi Pas ?, La Nation Belge, L’action wallonne, le Petit Parisien,…) et fait montre d’une intransigeance totale à l’égard des flamingants, de l’incivisme,  de l’amnistie et d’une germanophobie très poussée. Il ne manque pas non plus d’écorner la classe politique et de s’attaquer aux questions sociales et économiques (pauvreté, grèves,…). Il agit en véritable témoin de son temps.

En 1938, Jacques OCHS dessine, pour la revue satirique “Pourquoi Pas?” une caricature de Hitler le montrant les mains ensanglantées (« l’empereur Hitler »). Sur dénonciation d’un collègue jaloux et ayant des sympathies pour le Nouvel Ordre (Auguste Mambour), il est arrêté le 17 novembre 1940 dans son bureau de directeur de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Liège.

Il transite par la prison Saint-Léonard à Liège et par le bâtiment de la Gestapo, avenue Louise à Bruxelles, avant d’être emmené à Breendonk le 7 décembre 1940. Il y devient le détenu n° 56.

Le major Schmitt l’affecte tout d’abord au « Stubedienst » (service de nettoyage) puis au Zeichendienst (service de dessin). Il est chargé de croquer les détenus pour le compte du commandant du camp (principalement durant les mois de juillet à octobre 1941). Chaque soir, il doit confier ses dessins à son chef de chambrée qui les remet aux SS. En réalité, il ne remet que des copies et cache les originaux.

Malade, il est transféré à l’hôpital militaire d’Anvers puis libéré le 20 février 1942, grâce à la médiation de la Reine Elisabeth. Il réussit à sortir en fraude la plupart de ses dessins du camp.

A nouveau arrêté en juillet 1944, il est transféré à la caserne Dossin, centre de rassemblement des Juifs de Belgique avant leur déportation vers Auschwitz. Il y séjourne à partir du 5 juillet et est finalement libéré le 4 septembre par l’avance des troupes alliées.

Dès 1947, il publie “Breendonck, Bagnards et Bourreau. Textes et dessins par Jacques Ochs”.

Le Mémorial possède quelques dizaines de dessins ainsi que le carnet de croquis de l’artiste qu’il a pu clandestinement sortir du camp à sa libération. En 1973, les fraîchement créées Communauté française et flamande achètent 64 dessins lors d’une vente aux enchères à Anvers. Une partie de ces derniers sont en prêt de longue durée au Mémorial.

DIDIER GELUK (DILUCK)

Après la seconde guerre mondiale, ce communiste engagé signe sous le pseudo de Diluck  des milliers de caricatures politiques dans des journaux d'obédience communiste tels que «Le Drapeau Rouge» ou dans le  «Pourquoi pas?». Il dirige ensuite une maison de distribution de films.

Il suit comme dessinateur de presse le procès de Malines et fait don au Mémorial de ses portraits des prévenus.

Il fait don au Mémorial d’une série de dessins réalisés lors du procès de Malines.

IDEL IANCELEVICI

Il ne s’agit pas à proprement parler d’un artiste lié à Breendonk mais l’artiste d’origine biélorusse a exécuté la statue « Le Résistant » que l’on peut admirer dans la plaine devant le Mémorial.

Etant Juif, il se cache (sous le nom de Janssens Adolphe) durant la seconde guerre mondiale à Maransart puis Auvelais, refusant de se rendre à la convocation à la Caserne Dossin de Malines et échappant ainsi à la déportation.

Une fois la guerre achevée, il se lance dans la création de son œuvre monumentale, le Résistant (« agenouillé mais jamais à genoux ») qui après maintes tergiversations aboutit à Breendonk.

Actualité

Généralités
Demain
Aujourd'hui
Hier

Visite du Mémorial

Qui sommes-nous
Le Mémorial
Histoire
Visite virtuelle (vues a 360°)
Les artistes de Breendonk

Frequently Asked Questions

Historique
Pratique
Plan du Fort

Infos pratiques

Horaire d'ouverture
Trajet
Tarifs
Visites guidées
Restauration
Photographies
Règlement général de la visite

Le coin des profs

Introduction
Données pratiques
Infrastructure
Les témoignages audiovisuels
Salle interactive
Livre-mémorial
Plan de la visite
Dossier pédagogique
Séminaires et formation
Bibliographie commentée
& filmographie

Contacts & Liens

Guestbook
Contactez-nous
Liens

Réservation en ligne

Séminaires

Banque d'images